MCA/MTAS

Teachers use formative assessments such as the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessments (MCAs)
and Minnesota Test of Academic Skills (MTAS)* to monitor student progress, to screen students for interventions and to guide instruction.

The State of Minnesota requires students in MN take the following tests in the following grades:
Reading: 3-8 & 10
Math: 3-8 & 11
Science: 5, 8, & 10

The tests are not timed; estimated test administration times are as follows:

Grade and Test Total Number of Passages and Items Total Test Administration
3 Reading MCA 9-10 passages, 64 items 2.5-3.5 hours
4-5 Reading MCA 8-10 passages, 64 items 2.5-3.5 hours
6-7 Reading MCA 9 passages, 69 items 2.5-3.5 hours
8 Reading MCA 9-10 passages, 69 items 2.5-3.5 hours
10 Reading MCA 8-10 passages, 69 items 2-3 hours
3-4 Math MCA 58 1.5-2 hours
5-6 Math MCA 60 1.5-2.5 hours
7-8 Math MCA 63 2-3 hours
11 Math MCA 55 1.5-2.5 hours
5 Science MCA 54 1.5-2 hours
8 Science MCA 65-66 1.5-2 hours
10 Science MCA 83 2-2.5 hours

MCA and MTAS test results are given to parents at fall conferences.

*The MTAS is Minnesota’s alternate assessment for students
with the most significant cognitive disabilities. It is designed exclusively for use with students
who receive special education services and whose participation has been determined on an
individual basis by an Individualized Education Program (IEP) team.

If you have questions regarding MCAs please contact the District Assessment Coordinator, Sheri Fossen, at sfossen@isd100.org or 218-384-4274, ext. 2900.

Wrenshall 2019 MCA/MTAS Schedule:

Tuesday, April 9: Grade 6 Reading MCA

Wednesday, April 10: Grades 7 & 8 Reading MCA

Thursday, April 11: Grade 6 Reading MCA, Grade 5/6 Reading MCA

Friday, April 12: Grades 7 & 8 Reading MCA

Tuesday, April 16: Grades 3, 4, 5, 5/6 Reading MCA

Wednesday, April 17: Grade 6 Math

Thursday, April 18: Grades 3, 4, 5 Reading MCA, Grade 5/6 Math MCA

Tuesday, April 23: Grade 10 Reading MCA and MTAS, 11 Math MCA

Wednesday, April 24: Grades 3, 4, 5 Math MCA

Thursday, April 25: Grades 7 & 8 Math MCA

Tuesday, April 30: Grades 5, 8, & 10 Science MCA and MTAS