MCA/MTAS

Teachers use formative assessments such as the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessments (MCAs)
and Minnesota Test of Academic Skills (MTAS)* to monitor student progress, to screen students for interventions and to guide instruction.

The State of Minnesota requires students in MN take the following tests in the following grades:
Reading: 3-8 & 10
Math: 3-8 & 11
Science: 5, 8, & 10

The tests are not timed; estimated test administration times are as follows:

Grade and Test Total Number of Passages and Items Total Test Administration
3 Reading MCA 9-10 passages, 64 items 2.5-3.5 hours
4-5 Reading MCA 8-10 passages, 64 items 2.5-3.5 hours
6-7 Reading MCA 9 passages, 69 items 2.5-3.5 hours
8 Reading MCA 9-10 passages, 69 items 2.5-3.5 hours
10 Reading MCA 8-10 passages, 69 items 2-3 hours
3-4 Math MCA 58 1.5-2 hours
5-6 Math MCA 60 1.5-2.5 hours
7-8 Math MCA 63 2-3 hours
11 Math MCA 55 1.5-2.5 hours
5 Science MCA 54 1.5-2 hours
8 Science MCA 65-66 1.5-2 hours
10 Science MCA 83 2-2.5 hours

MCA and MTAS test results are given to parents at fall conferences.

*The MTAS is Minnesota’s alternate assessment for students
with the most significant cognitive disabilities. It is designed exclusively for use with students
who receive special education services and whose participation has been determined on an
individual basis by an Individualized Education Program (IEP) team.

If you have questions regarding MCAs please contact the District Assessment Coordinator, Sheri Fossen, at sfossen@isd100.org or 218-384-4274, ext. 2900.

Wrenshall 2021 MCA/MTAS Schedule:

Tuesday, April 6: Grade 5, 6 Reading MCA

Wednesday, April 7: Gr 7, 8 Reading MCA and MTAS

Thursday, April 8 : Grade 5, 6 Reading MCA

Tuesday, April 13  Gr 7, 8 Reading MCA and MTAS

Wednesday, April 14: Grades 3, 4 Reading MCA and MTAS

Thursday, April 15: 5,6 Math MCA

Friday, April 16:   Grades 3, 4 Reading MCA and MTAS

Monday, April 19: 5,6 Math MCA

Tuesday, April 20: Grade 10 Reading MCA, 11 Math MCA and MTAS

Wednesday, April 21: Grades 7, 8 Math MCA and MTAS

Thursday, April 22: Grades 3, 4, Math MCA and MTAS

Friday, April 23: Grades 7, 8 Math MCA and MTAS

Monday, April 27: Grades 3, 4, Math MCA and MTAS

Tuesday, April 27: Grades 5, 8, & 10 Science MCA, 8 Science MTAS