Teachers use formative assessments such as the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessments (MCAs) and Minnesota Test of Academic Skills (MTAS)* to monitor student progress, to screen students for interventions and to guide instruction.

The State of Minnesota requires students in MN take the following tests in the following grades:
Reading: 3-8 & 10
Math: 3-8 & 11
Science: 5, 8, & 10

The tests are not timed; estimated test administration times are as follows:

Grade and Test Total Number of Passages and Items Total Test Administration
3 Reading MCA 9-10 passages, 64 items 2.5-3.5 hours
4-5 Reading MCA 8-10 passages, 64 items 2.5-3.5 hours
6-7 Reading MCA 9 passages, 69 items 2.5-3.5 hours
8 Reading MCA 9-10 passages, 69 items 2.5-3.5 hours
10 Reading MCA 8-10 passages, 69 items 2-3 hours
3-4 Math MCA 58 1.5-2 hours
5-6 Math MCA 60 1.5-2.5 hours
7-8 Math MCA 63 2-3 hours
11 Math MCA 55 1.5-2.5 hours
5 Science MCA 54 1.5-2 hours
8 Science MCA 65-66 1.5-2 hours
10 Science MCA 83 2-2.5 hours

MCA and MTAS test results are given to parents at fall conferences.

*The MTAS is Minnesota’s alternate assessment for students
with the most significant cognitive disabilities. It is designed exclusively for use with students who receive special education services and whose participation has been determined on an individual basis by an Individualized Education Program (IEP) team.

If you have questions regarding MCAs please contact the District Assessment Coordinator, Sheri Fossen, at or 218-384-4274, ext. 2900.

Wrenshall 2022 MCA/MTAS Schedule:

April 5&6: 3rd and 4th Reading MCA and MTAS

April 7&8: 10th Reading MCA

April 11&12: 7th and 8th Reading MCA and MTAS

April 13&14: 5th and 6th Reading MCA and MTAS

April 21&22: 7th and 8th Math MCA and MTAS

April 26&27: 3rd, 4th, and 11th Math MCA and MTAS

April 28&29: 5th and 6th Math MCA and MTAS

May 3&4: 5th, 8th, and 10th Science


MCA Parent Refusal Form